In order to help minimize spread of the coronavirus and protect our campus community, Cowles Library is adjusting our services, hours, and building access. Read more…

Archive for January, 2020

First Christian Church Donates to the Drake University Archives

The First Christian Church at 25th and University Avenue was founded in 1888, under the name University Place Church of Christ, and historically had numerous ties with Drake. As the church closes in 2020, the University Archives has accepted documents, correspondence, photographs, and artifacts for preservation. Some of Drake’s Founding Fathers, as well as faculty were preachers and held various notable capacities in the church. Drake’s first campus building, the Student’s Home, hosted early Sunday School sessions, and Sunday evening religious services were held in Old Main’s chapel. Over the years, the First Christian Church shared its sanctuary spaces with Drake for lectures, musical performances, commencements and convocations. Drake Bible College Professor, Charles Medbury preached there for 28 years, and at the peak of his ministry, collapsed and died at the conclusion of Sunday services on April 24, 1932. It remains one of the church’s most dramatic, historical events.

Drake’s Presidents’ Papers collection is now open

The President of a University is the chief executive officer, responsible for being the educational and administrative head of the University. Many different kinds of papers, documents, photos, and people pass through the office of the University President.   Now, for the first time, public researchers, Drake faculty, students, alumni, and staff, can explore the history of Drake University in an exclusive way through its’ Presidents’ Papers.

Over 3000 folders of newly arranged and preserved documents offer a unique understanding of events, as well as reflect how the University was shaped by its top leaders through times of growing pains and prosperity. The Presidents’ Papers are closed for 30 years from the last inclusive date of each term, so those through Wilbur Miller (1985) are now open.  For more information, please visit the Collection’s online Finding Aid, or visit the University Archives, inside Cowles Library.

Scroll to Top