Political Papers Collection

The Drake University Political Papers Collection consists of the congressional papers of senators and members of the House of Representatives from Iowa, as well as records related to the Iowa Caucus and Iowa politics in general.


Tom Harkin Papers                                                   Robert Ray Papers


Birth-Death:  1939

Collection Coverage:  1972-2014

Harkin represented Iowa’s 5th Congressional district as a Democrat from 1975-1985.  In 1984, he won election to the United States Senate.  He would go on to serve five terms in office.  Portions of this collection are closed for processing.

robert ray

Birth-Death:  1928

Collection Coverage:  1936-2012

Ray served as the 38th Governor of Iowa from 1969-1983.  In 1998, Drake University appointed Robert D. Ray its 11th president.

Neal Smith Papers


Birth-Death:  1920-

Collection Coverage:  1959-1994

Smith represented Iowa’s 5th Congressional district as a Democrat from 1959-1973.  Due to redistricting, he later served as a member of the U.S. House of Representatives for Iowa’s 4th Congressional district from 1973-1995.

Iowa Caucus Collection

flag_map_of_iowa-3333pxAdvancing knowledge and research about the Iowa caucuses through campaign files, memorabilia, audiovisual materials, and photographs.

For more information…

For more information on the Political Papers Collection contact Hope Grebner Bibens, Political Papers Archivist at 515-271-2088 or hope.bibens@drake.edu.